Skip to main content
Time tracking

How to submit a timesheet

In Operating you can submit timesheets (or lock timesheets) in the Hours tab, in the timesheet view

Written By Lauri Eurén

Last updated 3 days ago

Submitting timesheets

People can submit their timesheets from the Hours tab in both timesheet views:

  • Weekly view

  • List view

To submit hours, click Submit timesheet.... In the dialog, choose the date to submit up until, then click Submit.

When submitting, the person selects the end date up to which they want to submit their time entries. Once submitted, all days up to that date become uneditable (locked).

If the timesheet has a time entry on a closed project (a project with a Completed or Cancelled status), the Submit button in the dialog is disabled, and so is the button in the Unsubmit timesheet dialog. Hover over a button to see the reason. To submit or unsubmit the timesheet, reopen the project first.

A person submitting their last week's timesheets

Editing submitted timesheets

Users with the appropriate permissions can edit locked hours submitted by other people. If you’d need to unlock someone’s submitted ours, read this article: How to unlock a submitted timesheet.

Viewing submission status

In all time entry lists, such as:

  • the Project details page (for a specific project), and

  • the All time entries list (Sidebar → More → Time entries),

you can:

  • filter time entries by Submitted / Not submitted

  • display the Submission status as a column in the list by toggling the Status on in the display options

Tip:

You can create and pin a saved view to your sidebar, for example:

  • All unsubmitted time entries, grouped by person

This keeps outstanding timesheets always readily available.

Approval flows (if enabled)

If How to set up approval flows are enabled for the time entries submitted on the project, the submitted hours will require approval by the designated approver before they are finalized.

If approval flows are not enabled for the project, submitted timesheets are automatically accepted and simply marked as Submitted.